Home / Diamond Rings / Diamond Color Cutting Carat and Clarity

Diamond Color Cutting Carat and Clarity

Approaches to get married, many more people hope to have a brilliant diamond engagement ring, as the king of flawless gemstones, the diamond becomes the symbol of love, to purchase a diamond with excellent quality and reasonable price, we should be familiar with the diamond. GIA is a nonprofit gem research institute dedicated to providing corporate & company treasure education in the field of gemology & jewelry arts, who create the 4C standard to evaluate diamond’s quality, the 4C is diamond’s cutting, clarity, color, and carat.


Cutting is the only factor affected by human beings in 4C, even though diamond can be processed into a variety of different shapes, the degree of cut affect diamond’s fire directly, the crystal is composed of three essential parts: the crown, girdle, and pavilion. Two diamonds within the same carat, same color, the same clarity, but in different cut grade, there is the large difference in value.


Diamond color has three series: the brown, color and Cape series. Most of the diamond color belongs to the Cape series, which from colorless to light yellow, D, E, F belongs to neutral. G, H, I, J is close to neutral. K, L, M belongs to faint light yellow. N to Z belongs to light yellow.


Diamond’s clarity means the degree of transparency, according to the inclusions size, number, and location. GIA divide clarity into 11 levels that is flawless IF, VVS1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2, I1, I2, I3.


One carat is equal to 0.2 gram or 200 milligrams, starts from the Greek word for keration, the carob seed grew in the Middle East, one carat is divided into 100 points, so 40 points also mean 0.4 carat, the diamond level is higher, the greater the impact of weight on the price.

About admin

Check Also

Diamond cut

As we all known, diamond’4C is Cut, Clarity, Color, and Carat, the cut of diamond …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *